top of page


Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated was founded in the District of Columbia at Howard University on January 16, 1920. The District of Columbia State is part of the Eastern Region, along with the States of North Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia.  District of Columbia State is comprised of two graduate chapters (Beta Zeta and Omicron Phi Zeta) and four undergraduate chapters (Alpha, Kappa Alpha, Sigma Pi and Xi Sigma) in Washington, DC.

In addition to the community service and scholarships provided by the local chapters, the District of Columbia State has served the local and international communities by building water wells in Ghana, Africa and by donating and/or contributing to organizations, such as:


 American Cancer Society

 HOPE Court

 House of Ruth

 March of Dimes

 Micah’s Voice

 St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital

 Wo Ye Bra

Since the 1960s, seventeen Sorors have previously served as the State Director, State Coordinator, or Associate Regional Director for the District of Columbia:

State Directors and State Coordinator

^Connie Day McClinton (2018-2022)

Donna W. Jordan (2012-2018)

Leslie Rhines Joseph (2008 -2012)

*Carolyn Scipio Glover (2006-2008)

*Christine Hart-Wright (2002 – 2006)

Velda M. Fludd (2000 – 2002)

Rita Tucker-Harrell (1996 – 2000)

Neller Johnson (1992 – 1996)

Shirley Chambers (1986 – 1988)

Lois Sylver (1988 – 1992)

Lynette R. F. Smith (1980 – 1986)

*Gwendolyn Brunson (1978 – 1980)


Associate Directors

*SoJourner Jackson (1974 – 1978)

*La Rue Hill (1974 – 1978)

*Rosalie Kennedy (1970 – 1974)

*Inez Lattimore (1965 – 1970)

*Sarah Newton (1963 – 1965)

 * Deceased

^State Coordinator

bottom of page